Being submissive

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Once again another blog about 50 Shades of Grey. Well, you’re wrong!

It’s not a secret that I’m a Christian but my faith, not my belief…my faith has been on a rollercoaster ride. More so because I’m confused about dating and the men in my life. But, it’s not all bad news!

I’ve been reading my Bible lately and I’m enjoying what it’s teaching me to my surprise. I won’t lie, I found it hard to “get into” but that would be as though I was treating it like any other book on the shelf, which it is not! I won’t bore you with the details of how my faith has dipped and peaked but I will say this: it’s not how many times you fall off that saddle that counts. It’s how many times you get up.

ANYWAY…! Slightly diverted there. I was going to tell you about what I was reading and what I’ve been thinking about lately: relationships and God. Growing up, it wasn’t hard to see how much my parents loved one another but also, how much they fought, for many reasons. My mom did all she could to hold her Christian faith and I know she still believes but her faith isn’t the strongest at her point in her life when she needs it most, I believe. When a couple come together from a religious background but one’s faith is stronger than the other, it can have a strain on the relationship. That’s what I believe anyway. I always thought this was the way.. people got together and after a while, they grew apart and fought, even though they deeply loved one another. But see, it isn’t just because of “growing apart”. It’s deeper than that. Much deeper. It’s deeper than the roots in your scalp or the trees in the ground. It’s so deep, you can hardly see it. It’s God. how am I going to follow Christ

Now, you’re thinking “howso?”. Well, God created Adam to take care of His earth but He believed Adam needed help, a partner, so he created Eve. Adam and Eve were made for one another- literally. But, my understanding is that God created Eve to help Adam and there are many parts in the Bible where God and prophets speak of women/wives should submit to their husbands and follow his lead. I don’t know about you but growing up in this day and age, I’ve grown accustomed to equality- men and women on equal levels. But see, I was wrong in using that same mindset in regards to a religious relationship. God didn’t create women to be of any LESS value than her husband. Nay. He created her the same way He created Jesus- to help her husband do His works on earth, the way God created Jesus. what God wants

Remember, Jesus and God are one, much the same as husband and wife are one. Jesus was put on earth to perform acts of God, with God being the leader, the decider, the commander, the ruler. However, God and Jesus aren’t equal. Jesus is purely God in human flesh. I don’t want to confuse you but I’m explaining how God wants relationships to be. Both being are on earth to work for their Almighty Father. They both make decisions, but when times come where the wife cannot aid in the decision making, the husband takes the lead and makes the decision for them both. She encourages him and is understanding, knowing that making the decisions is a large responsibility God has placed on their shoulders. ephesians-5-22-web

See, by submitting to her husband, the wife is submitting to God also. She is saying “Lord, I hand myself over to you. I entrust my life in Your hands and I trust you will place me in the tender loving arms of a man so perfectly designed for me, one to lead me and love me the way You have.”

All the information in my blog comes from this website: https://carm.org/apologetics/womens-issues/what-does-it-mean-wife-submit-her-husband

Hopefully, you’ll see the light as I have and I hope that website sheds some more light on any questions or confusion you may feel.

God bless,

Megs xoxo

Leave a Reply

