The worth of a book is determined by what you can carry away from it- James Bryce

booksThere are so many different kinds of books- so many genres and topics to consider; so many wonderful distractions from the world around us. I’m in dire need of a distraction. A romantic getaway created by the words on a page or a comedy or book version of a chick flick that will make me laugh so hard that I’m holding my stomach whilst on the floor. Life is serious as an adult. There are far too many tears shed and tense shoulders caused by the ‘normal’ everyday stress things of the world creates. We see the news and everyday it’s the same old same old stuff. It’s become so repetitive that, nowadays, a murder or rape isn’t as devastatingly shocking to hear as it’s become a sick and twisted feature of our everyday lives, whether we like it or not.

I find that, though we can change the world one step at a time, a break is much needed. An escape more-so. Not all of us are lucky enough to afford a holiday away BUT I always believed that books were a good enough escape…once upon a time. I remember reading a book and never being able to put it down. Lately, though, life has come in the way and I haven’t been able to find a good book yet- one that sucks me in on the first few pages of the first chapter. magic from books

SO I ask YOU to give me a few pointers in the right direction of really great books! Books that tug you in, hook, line and sinker. One’s you just cannot put down. I’ve only had that once or twice in my childhood. I’m just not one for horrors or scary kinda books. Picture me as a girly girl- except, I do like the thought provoking kind of books; ones where you’re left wondering and pondering.

the one that makes you think

I’m all eyes and ears so fire away ;).

I look forward to hearing from you! I may just blog about the book you recommend to me… WHO KNOWS?

Until next time

God bless

xoxo

-Megs

5 thoughts on “The worth of a book is determined by what you can carry away from it- James Bryce

  1. Megs,
    I love all kinds of genres.
    Some of the most delightful books and/or series I’ve lost myself in are ones that some may consider young adult fantasy. I will list a few suggestions. I have ALL of these books.

    Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
    (personal fav. These add Greek Mythology in the stories. I love mythology). BTW, the movies don’t even come close.
    Fablehaven by Brandon Mull (I couldn’t put these down)
    He also wrote “The Candy Shop War” and “The Beyonder” series.
    I’ve read and loved them all.
    The Missing Collection: Found; Sent; Sabotaged; Torn; Caught by Margaret Peterson Haddix. These are AWESOME! They’re considered historical non-fiction.
    If you want a vampire twist but are sick of Twilight, I’d suggest The House of Night series by P.C Cast and her daughter Kristin Cast. I was given the first two books as gifts from my children, and I had to keep reading them.
    If you’re looking for good old fashioned romance books with Christian ties Sir got me many kindle books by Julie Lessman. I’ve plowed through most of them by now (hint hint Sir).

    If you want any more ideas, hit me up.

    ~ Darling

    1. Oh! Darling, you and I have more than being romantic souls in common. I love the books you’ve recommended! I haven’t read them yet but their titles are good enough and I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for them 😀 yippee!
      Thank you so much.
      Sincerely,
      Megs

      1. Excellent! Both Sir and I are avid readers.

        Let me know what you think of them. I’ve read each of the ones I suggested multiple times. I’m weird like that.

        xxx
        Darling

  2. I am late to comment here.Ms.Darling has a long list which I am sure are awesome books, thought i have not read anything except Fableheaven in her reco.

    If I were to recommend the first book I would think of is Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. The movie is a far cry from the book, as always. It makes for a simple yet good read and you cannot put it down. Well I couldnt. It has science, philosophy and pulp fiction all in one.

    Contact by Carl Sagan is 50% science and 50% philosophy too.

    These are simple reads and yet intriguing enough to keep you interested. Hope you try it out.

Leave a Reply

