Meaning of love and it’s sources

Love.

What does it mean? To love someone?

I have been lucky enough to hear people tell me they love me. Family, friends, one or two guys but it can mean so many different things in different situations. The general definition of love is to adore someone unconditionally, threw thick and thin, flaws and all.

Recently, this guy I know told me he loved me.  I asked him what he meant and he said he loved me for the person that I was- the way he respected me, the way we spoke and how he has gotten to know me over the past few months. He had a little to drink and I confronted him about it. He said it’s like ‘dutch-courage’, telling someone how you feel about them after having a few. It upsets me that someone feels they can only tell me how they feel once they’ve had a few to drink. I understand it because he’s a shy guy. He’s lovely! I LOVE talking to him and he often tells me the same. Often. However, he lives in the UK and I live in Australia. He told me he does have feelings for me. He said that, if he met me in person, there is no doubt he’d fall in love with me. Might I remind you he had a few drinks. So I honestly have no idea what to think. He doesn’t really tell me what he truly means. And am I reading into it all? Might I also add that his heart has been broken and he doesn’t feel he could ever allow someone in so he could love them, romantically speaking. 

So the reason I brought this up is because I want to know your thoughts on meeting people, be it online or off (in person). From personal experiences in the past, online dating doesn’t end well. The fact that it ends says it all. There are tears shed and heartache on both sides. In reality, most of the time you never really know if the two of you would ever actually have the opportunity to meet due to travel expenses, family responsibility, a job, studies- just general life getting in the way. Sure, there’s things like Skype and Viber…but that can only help so much. There is no physical interaction, and by that I’m not referring to sex. I’m meaning being with each other, going on dates, holding each other’s hands, kissing, cuddling..that kinda thing. 

Yet, I bet we ALL know how hard it is to meet people on person. You notice someone looking and you and you smile at each other. But it doesn’t go further than that. You don’t approach them because you’re shy or nervous and wouldn’t know what to say. On the ‘net, it’s easier because it’s a chat box and you can type with confidence because you can edit what you want to say. Yeah, there are the creeps who mislead you into having sex. But occasionally, the good guy comes along. Hell, you might even meet ‘the one’ online and you wouldn’t know it. 

I’ve never had a boyfriend. I lack experience in many ways. Never been kissed. Never been on a date. Approached by a guy once at a club but that’s about it. I tried meeting someone online but I felt sneaky keeping it from my parents. So I’ve stopped that now. I know I’m only 20. I guess, even though I feel slight pressure to meet someone because I see so many of my friends who are my age, getting married, I would love to be wined and dined by a guy. I’d love to romanced with flowers, kisses on the forehead, cuddles, movie nights in, deep and meaningful conversations… For those who aren’t romantic, you might say that’s a bit O.T.T but so what? There are SO many people who have that already. Who’s to stop me from having it. 

Anyway, I REALLY would love to hear what you think so drop me a comment in the REPLY box and let me know 🙂

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Until then,

God bless

xoxo

-Megs

2 thoughts on “Meaning of love and it’s sources

  1. Great post! I can completely relate to everything you’ve said, I’m 21 and have never been in love before… holding out for ‘the one’ is my current plan of action because I also want to experience romance and all the little things that you hear and read about, I’m sure we’ll both get what we’re looking for 🙂

    1. Aw I’m so glad you think so! 😀 Yeah. why should we have to ‘settle’? We deserve nothing BUT the best of the best. I only pray about it 🙂 I have faith that the right guy will come into my life at the right time. I do for everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

