And a Ho Ho Ho Merry Christmas to you!

I’m lying in bed this morning, thinking about things in my life that are going on- I have been accepted in to university to study Psychology and Counselling; I have also been giving a place to live on campus (made possible by my aunt);I have two loving parents and a nutter for a sister; some truly wonderful friends; I have a well paying job; I’m healthy; and I have a roof over my head, food in my tummy and clothes on my back. What more could I possible need?

The reason why I’m mentioning this is that Christmas is coming up- a time that’s meant to be shared together with loved ones over a roast dinner or barbecue (a braai, as us South Africans call it), or whichever way you celebrate it. We open gifts from under the Christmas tree and sing along to Christmas songs.. But you know, sometimes I think that the idea behind Christmas has slowly, over the years, disappeared. I mean, from a Christians point of view it was to celebrate the journey Jesus took, as well as the day one man decided he was going to cater for kids who had much less than anyone else by delivering presents to them- most of which would have been hand made. Today, however, people place so much importance on the price and model of the gift instead of the actual day of Christmas.

My parents, for example sake, feel immense pressure (not place by my sister and I) placed

by society to have the best of the best. My sister and I couldn’t care less. We have everything we need. The days when our parents spoiled us with presents were days for our childhood. Times change. Financial circumstances change so why do we constantly feel the need to have the best of the best? Christmas is no longer sentimental. It’s another reason for people to spend loads of money on material things that only create a temporary happiness. Quite frankly, I’d much prefer going camping than getting any expensive gifts. To just be around my family, a roast and veg, movies, popcorn, no arguments but pure laughter… That would be bliss. Don’t you think?

So you guys, let’s just take a minute to stop in the rush and remember exactly what Christmas is about 🙂

Until next time,
God bless
-Megs

Leave a Reply

